California Motorcyclist Safety Program
Cabrillo College is a California Motorcyclist Safety Program (CMSP) Training Site. Our award-winning Motorcyclist Safety class is the only CMSP approved class in Santa Cruz County.
These classes are offered in English only. Estas clases se ofrecen solamente en Ingles.
Who benefits from this course?
Riders under 21 years of age: California law requires that motorcycle and moped drivers under age 21 complete an approved safety training program before being issued a DMV Permit. Successful completion of the Motorcyclist Training Course fulfills the DMV requirement for under 21 riders.
Riders over 21 years of age also benefit since successful completion of the course may waive the riding skills test at the California DMV, and insurance discounts may be available. Please consult your local DMV and your insurance provider for specifics.
When does the class meet?
Class meets 4 times; two lectures and two "range" classes where students ride. The range portion of the class is held in Cabrillo Parking lot S. A typical class schedule is as follows:
First Thursday evening class via Zoom: 6:15 -10:00 pm
First Saturday or Sunday - Range 1 at the Cabrillo campus: 8:00 am - 2:00 pm
Second Thursday evening class via Zoom: 6:15 - 9:30 pm
Second Saturday or Sunday - Range 2 at the Cabrillo campus: 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
You must be able to attend all four scheduled class meetings, and arrive on time, to avoid being dropped from the class. A camera is required for all virtual class sessions.
What ID should I bring?
All students are required to show proof of age and birth date at the time of class. In order to participate in this program you must present a valid government issued photo ID to the instructor at the 2nd class meeting, such as:
- A current U.S. driver's license
- A current California ID
- A current government issued photo ID
Other forms of valid photo ID may be accepted; however, non-valid IDs such as an expired driver's license may not be used. If you have any questions, please reach out to the Extension office for clarification.
What are the fees?
Prior to July 1st, the fees for the Motorcyclist Training Course are:
Fee for students under 21: $295
Fee for students 21 and older: $350
After July 1st, the fees for the Motorcyclist Training Course will increase to:
Fee for students under 21: $395
Fee for students 21 and older: $425
Note: Students must be UNDER 21 years old as of the first date of the first class meeting in order to receive the "Under 21" discount.
What equipment should I bring?
Motorcycles are provided, and a limited number of helmets are available onsite if you do not have your own. For both ranges you must wear protective gear as described in the Additional Class Information at the button below. If you are missing any of these items, you will be refused admittance to the range and will be dropped from the class.